Daily Archives: August 23, 2012

Flourless Cheese Crackers

Standard

As promised, I made low carb cheese crackers today.  I didn’t follow the recipe from my carbohydrate load cookbook – I had the wrong ingredients!  The recipe calls for hulled sunflower seeds, but I hulled, raw pumpkin seeds.  What the heck!  My desire for some kind of low carb cheese cracker was stronger than my desire to wait until I had the right ingredients.

Sharp Cheddar Cheese From Raw Milk.

NOT sunflower seeds

Here is my recipe:

  • 1 cup of hulled, raw pumpkin seeds (these are generally unsalted)
  • 1/3 cup whole grain corn meal
  • 1/2 tsp ground cumin
  • 1/4 tsp paprika
  • 1/4 tsp sea salt
  • 2 cups of sharp cheddar cheese, grated (I used raw milk cheese but any will do)
  • 2 TBL water

Put the seeds in your food processor and grind until they are mealy.  Add the rest of the ingredients through the salt and pulse to mix.  Add the cheese, one cup at a time, and pulse to mix.  Lastly, drizzle in the water and mix well.

Your concoction will not look like a dough.  It will be crumbly and mealy.  I divided my “dough” in half at put half in a bowl and dumped the other half on a cookie sheet covered with parchment paper.  I pressed the mound with my hands until  it stuck together.  Cover it with another piece of parchment and roll with a rolling pin until it is as think as you can get it.  I tried to get mine to 1/8th inch.

Using a pizza cutter or sharp knife, cut rows of crackers. I topped my with a sprinkle of sea salt, but you don’t have to.  Pop into a 350 degree oven for about 18 or so minutes.  The crackers should be light brown.  If you used pumpkin seeds they will have a green cast to them.  I used a thin metal spatula to break the crackers apart.  Let cool and eat!

I give them 2 thumbs up!  The pungent cheese mixed with the slightly bitter seeds is quite nice.  Especially if you are missing crackers and bread.

I’ll update with the nutrition facts tomorrow -since pumpkin seeds have far fewer calories than sunflower seeds, I’ll need to do some math!

Close Up to Show Texture